Great Book

Suggestions, corrections or comments about astronomy / astrophotography books written by Allan Hall
Player152

Great Book

Post by Player152 » Mon Jun 17, 2013 7:42 pm

I just finished my first reading of Getting Started:Long Exposure Photography. Finally, a book that makes some sense of the maze that is astrophotography. Thank you Allen! I suspect there will be 2 or 3 more readings before I really get it but this book is pointing me in the right direction.

The up side is that I now have a clear direction to move ahead, the down side is that I now have a very long shopping list of software and equipment that I need to get where I want to be. In spite of the long list, I at least have a good idea of what is required. I am a professional photographer and have been conducting photography workshops for about 10 years so I assumed that getting into astrophotography would be pretty smooth. Bad assumption! The tools, software, and techniques are very different from the routines that I use.

I highly recommend this book to anyone interested in getting into astrophotography. It is a practical and down to earth overview of the tools and techniques required to be successful in getting started. I think the idea behind this book is to help a beginner get started and if that is the goal the book is a great success. I am not overwhelmed by the information in the book but have a long list of new ideas to try, a clear set of steps to take to get to the next level, and a good reference to go to when I run into a problem. It is still a long road ahead to learn all the new software, the telescope, mount, and guider routines, the camera techniques, and the post processing routines but before reading this book I was at a standstill, unsure of what to do next.

Now...all I need are some clear skies instead of all this rain!!

AllanHall
Site Admin

Re: Great Book

Post by AllanHall » Mon Jun 17, 2013 10:07 pm